One of the things I love about finding new Eco shops is the ingenuity and creativity that I see in taking what is old and making it new again.

Vinyl Rocks My World is a perfect example of this. I love how she has taken something that is essentially useless and will end up in many, many landfills and turned them into something not only useful, but exciting and interesting as well. I love this shop!

Take this clock for example

 Red 45rpm Vinyl Record Clock

Red 45rpm Vinyl Record Clock

What a fantastic use of someone’s unwanted item!

And who doesn’t need a Burt Bacharach vinyl record bowl! Come on, that should be standard decorating for every household!

Burt Bacharach Vinyl Record Bowl

Burt Bacharach Vinyl Record Bowl

I have to say, I was very excited to find the answers to my interview questions in my convo’s yesterday. 😉

Tell us a bit about you and your craft

I’m a junior in college, majoring in Accounting and dreaming of switching to Finance. I’ve always loved music – I started playing piano and reading music before I could read a book! I have a wonderful boyfriend who (I hope!) supports me and my ridiculous ideas and dreams. :O)
I make all sorts of eco-friendly crafts, most of which are made from vinyl records! It only seemed natural for me to incorporate recycling and music into my hobby and part-time job.. they are both MAJOR aspects of my life! I love to reuse and repurpose materials so I can give them a new, happy life.

What inspires you?


Music, life, and others’ creativity drive and motivate me. I love art, because someone had to think up their (sometimes crazy) ideas, and it’s just amazing to me. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a super happy all the time, and there’s rarely any downtime from that! I live life to the fullest and “live to love and learn”

Why is it important to you to use eco-friendly materials in your items?
Recycling is really important to me, and if I repurpose materials into my crafts, that creates less waste!
I do what I can to reduce my eco footprint, and not buying new is how I help.

What is your favourite item and why?
My fave item is not a record bowl (though that is what I sell the most of!). Instead, it is this Eagles spiral notebook, that I used the album sleeve as the cover. I spent a lot of time doing math, cutting the paper and the covers by hand (on a paper cutter), and I think it turned out amazing. I love it!

The Eagles Greatest Hits - Record Album Spiral Notebook

The Eagles Greatest Hits - Record Album Spiral Notebook

I listened to this album nonstop all throughout high school, and it always reminds my of my best friend through school. It will probably break my heart when it sells, because I won’t be able to look at it anymore, but it will definitely have a better home! (I’m not allowed to use it.. haha!)

If the world could only know one thing about you, what would you like that to be?
That I am full of heart and soul, and I love rock and roll. :O)

And a couple of fun questions

What did you have for breakfast this morning?
A banana on the go after my morning yoga workout!

If you were a colour, what colour would you be and why?
Purple – It’s the happiest medium between girly pink and boyish blue. It’s not too masculine or too feminine, and it’s one of my school colors! (Love my ECU Pirates! Arrrgghhh)

If you could meet one historical figure, who would it be?
Momofuku Ando, the creator of Ramen noodles. He had to be some sort of genius!
Okay, so maybe he’s not so ‘historical’.. but I would love to make friends with that man and hear his story. Creating food? Pretty cool. Creating an inexpensive instant meal that practically everyone on the planet has heard of, and sustains broke college students like myself? Genius!

So, if you don’t already have a great vinyl record bowl, make sure you stop by Vinyl Rocks My World and buy yourself one!!

